Mayfair Market, Azusa, CA

I want to continue with the Azusa theme since my dad took us out to Azusa so often to attend mass at St. Frances and to McDonald’s, the Foothill Drive-thru, Penny’s in the Foothill Shopping Center, and other places.

Here is a more resolute, up-close shot of some of the stores.  I remember the Windsor, the JC Penny’s, but I don’t recall the Woolworths, one of my Dad’s favorite stores.

There was a shot I found at The Life & Times of Azusa of a couple sitting on a display in the JC Penny’s store.  And what struck me about that shot was that it reminded me of how we used to go to that Penny’s and enter sometimes through the front of the store or through the rear near where the models occupying that display.  You can see the rear sectioned parking lot.  

The building seen through the windows and out in the parking lot is the old Mayfair Market where we’d stop frequently after mass.  I love this scene because it reminded me of how we would frequently enter this JC Penny’s from this rear parking lot.  At the Mayfair Market, Dad would let us buy candy or some treat.  As kids when we entered the Mayfair Market, we went directly to the candy/cookie aisle where we scooped up a handful of Tootsie Rolls along with those colorful and convenient boxes of Animal Crackers.  Remember those?  They came with a shoe-string for eas And I was no kid, but apparently, I had kid tastes yet.

It’s funny because just last week, February 8, 2021, I was sharing a memory with my brother, Tom, about having leafed through the Sports section of the Herald-Examiner to learn the details of the 1972 AFC Divisional football game between the Pittsburgh Steelers (led by Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris, Rocky Bleier, “Mean” Joe Greene, Terry Hanratty, and others) and the Oakland Raiders.  The game took place at Three Rivers Stadium in Pittsburgh on December 23, 1972, and was famous for “The Immaculate Reception” catch made by fullback, Franco Harris.  As Dad headed slowly through the shopping center parking lot, I scanned the lede, the photo, and took in the smell of the Sports section.

2 thoughts on “Mayfair Market, Azusa, CA

  1. Patricia Haiflich Davis

    Oh my God! I grew up in Azusa, my mom worked at jc pennys for years, I bought my first nylons at woolworths and my first mini dress at windsor. I attended St Francis of Rome catholic school until 8th grade.When I was 13 my Dad took my mom and I to dinner at the Canyon Inn, A guy came up and asked me to dance I was flatered Dad not so much. I quite possibly concieved my oldest son at Foothill Drive-In and skipped sunday mass to attend the swap meet instead! Im 66 yrs old,and I havent thought of these places or things for along long time.My heart is beating and my hands are still shakey. Thank you so much,all this because I had to find out the name of the movie Hostage that ends in the ashes of the Inn.I love Bruce please thank him for this trip I havent been there in 40 years.

    1. What a great comment! Loved your excited tones. Hanging out in and around Azusa for mass at St. Francis of Rome, A&W Rootbeer, the McDonald’s there, Azusa Bowl, the clothing stores in that Azusa outdoor mall where my sisters used to shop for clothes when they didn’t go toMcBratneys or JC Penny’s on Myrtle in Monrovia was always great fun. After mass, my dad would stop at the local Winchell’s Donuts, get a coffee and we’d get hot chocolate and a donut, and he’s pull up in his ’62 VW bug along the road that paralleled the RR tracks and we’d sit there enjoying the morning combing through the paper while he sipped coffee, enjoyed a cigarette, and we couldn’t have been happier. Legendary days at the Azusa Bowl. I took a bowling class at Citrus and the class was held at the Azusa Bowl. We used to order burritos at the take-out window from Carmen’s. A neighbor loved Carmen’s dining room: lights were lowered, attentive service, Mexican music in the background, and delicious food. Decor on the walls–sombrero, lariat, classic Mexican landscapes framed and hung on the walls. I used to buy all of my high-school sporting gear at Bill’s Sporting Goods on Azusa. https://bit.ly/3v4L0VS. So nice to review the joys and delights of a place and a time of my formative years. Thank you very much for your terrific comment.

Leave a comment